• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying GameParadise! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Resident Evil The Keepers Diary fan film shows Hollywood how it's done

admin

Chad
Staff member
85%
1720457080292.png

To say that I'm a die-hard Resident Evil fan would be an understatement. Back in 1996, I can remember vividly being told by a high school friend about a really scary game he got on the PlayStation called Resident Evil. At the time, I knew nothing about this new Capcom title. After all, the internet wasn't a thing in the common household and all our information came from video game magazines such as GamesMaster.

My excitement for this unheard-of game was already fever pitch and a group of us went straight to the friend's house after school. His PlayStation was located in an understairs cupboard, not too different from Harry Potter's bedroom when he was living with the Dursleys. There we were, tightly grouped, passing the controller and playing Resident Evil for the very first time. I had no clue how to play this game and I died at the first zombie encounter and the experience was over in a blink of an eye. Yet, from that moment, my heart was won by Resident Evil.

The Keeper's Diary: A Biohazard Story trailer

Back then, video game fans had a raw deal when it came to adaptations with the likes of Super Mario Bros. (1993) and Mortal Kombat (1995), but surely, the Capcom series had all the ingredients for a successful film and before the release of the first Resident Evil live-action film in 2002 directed by Paul W.S. Anderson, I had deluded expectations. To be fair, the pre-release trailers looked awesome and it appeared to feature what I assumed was the Spencer Mansion, the location of the 1996 video game.